Energy From Thorium Discussion Forum

It is currently Jun 17, 2018 4:48 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Feb 06, 2014 7:31 pm 

Hi there,

i am new here, but i am long term supporter of thorium energy. I was thinking today about this:

Do you think that there will be a country in the not that distant future that can produce 100% of its consumed electricity from nuclear power plants? What was the highest nuclear share of electricity production in any country (not just today, but also in the past)?

I am from Slovakia and we are second overall (from % perspective) behind France, but 2 new reactors are coming online this, respectively next year. Here is my calculation of the nuclear share after those 2 reactors will come online, please correct me if i am wrong about it, i am an economist/businessman not an physicists :oops:

Slovakia 2013
Energy consumption: 28,8 TWh (2013 numbers)
Installed nuclear capacity 1,816 MW(e)
Actual share of nuclear energy on energy consumption: 53,8% (wikipedia)
Capacity factor of nuclear power plants: 97,4% (please check me if i calculated it right)

Slovakia 2015
2 new reactors coming online with 500+500 MW(e) installed capacity
Energy consumption: 29,5 TWh (i found this estimate on one page about energy)
Installed nuclear capacity 2,816 MW(e)
-capacity factor stays the same
Actual share of nuclear energy on energy consumption: 81,5%

So we should have a bigger share of nuclear energy than France if i calculated it the right way.

But the more interesting part is this - our politicians are in active talks to build another nuclear reactor at one of our existing power plants, this time a big one with an installed capacity in the order of 1200-1750 MW(e). They want to have it online before 2025. The land for it was already bought and they are now actively searching for a suitable reactor supplier.

Quote: