Energy From Thorium Discussion Forum

It is currently Nov 17, 2017 8:03 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: May 10, 2009 7:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Jan 27, 2009 12:09 am
Posts: 134
Location: Toronto, Canada
Login is better. I guess the cookies just needed resetting. Seems to be OK now.
What I have noticed is that posts have the "View new post" status for a much shorter time.
Like a few hours.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Jul 28, 2009 11:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Nov 30, 2006 3:30 pm
Posts: 3322
Location: Alabama
Is anyone having problems with the new sections I added tonight? One person has contacted me reporting problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Jul 29, 2009 7:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Nov 30, 2006 3:30 pm
Posts: 3322
Location: Alabama
OK, I messed around a little more with the new sections' permissions settings and I tried them out using DV8's and fnord's permission settings, and things seem to be working. Let me know if there's any additional problems and sorry about that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Aug 09, 2009 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Jun 12, 2008 3:32 pm
Posts: 57
Hi Kirk,

I tried posting a comment and got
Quote:
General Error

SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Incorrect string value: '\xCA\xBBlong...' for column 'post_text' at row 1 [1366]

An SQL error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact the Board Administrator if this problem persists.

Please notify the board administrator or webmaster: enersor6 /at/ energyfromthorium.com


So I tried emailing you and got

Quote:
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification
Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:

enersor6 \at\ energyfromthorium.com

Technical details of permanent failure:
Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain. We recommend contacting the other email provider for further information about the cause of this error. The error that the other server returned was: 550 550 No Such User Here (state 14).

----- Original message -----

MIME-Version: 1.0
Received: by 10.100.121.14 with SMTP id t14mr2761234anc.129.1249855328418;
Sun, 09 Aug 2009 15:02:08 -0700 (PDT)
Date: Sun, 9 Aug 2009 15:02:08 -0700
Message-ID: <8209f80908091502w6d74850bjafe5bd2ba30b553@mail.gmail.com>
Subject: Commenting problem
From: Bill Woods <wwoods6 \at\ gmail.com>
To: enersor6 \at\ energyfromthorium.com
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=0016e644cf6cdefc4e0470bc9ee6

--0016e644cf6cdefc4e0470bc9ee6
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable


[Edit 1]: This one, obviously, posted just fine. :?:

[Edit 2]: Here's the comment:

Nope. Here I get "The submitted form was invalid. Try submitting again."

This was being added to the '"A lifetime of power in the palm of your hand." leaflet' thread in the Registered Discussion section. I just tried logging out & in, and posting again ... with the same result. I don't see any weird characters or anything that would make your server choke.


Last edited by Bill on Aug 09, 2009 8:13 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Aug 09, 2009 7:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Dec 19, 2006 11:01 am
Posts: 396
Location: Knoxville, TN
Bill - the board shows me this kind of error if the submitted text contains non-ascii characters (in particular the Czech ones).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Aug 09, 2009 8:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Jun 12, 2008 3:32 pm
Posts: 57
ondrejch wrote:
Bill - the board shows me this kind of error if the submitted text contains non-ascii characters (in particular the Czech ones).

Oh! There is a weird character — an fl ligature in "fluoride".
... but that wasn't it.

Okay, I typed out the text I'd copy&pasted from the PDF, and it went through. I still don't know what was wrong. Why did the Preview take the text if it wasn't going to be acceptable to Submit? :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Aug 10, 2009 4:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Jul 28, 2008 5:01 am
Posts: 462
Location: Teesside, UK
Bill wrote:
Okay, I typed out the text I'd copy&pasted from the PDF, and it went through. I still don't know what was wrong. Why did the Preview take the text if it wasn't going to be acceptable to Submit? :x

Dunno, but this is the usual behaviour - the preview feature doesn't do a full set of checks, and if you then post and it doesn't like it, the text is lost, so if you go back a page the posting form is blank, at least in IE. I've got into the habit of copying the post text onto the clipboard each time before submitting. Annoying, but hardly Kirk's problem.

Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Aug 10, 2009 10:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Dec 19, 2006 11:01 am
Posts: 396
Location: Knoxville, TN
Luke wrote:
the text is lost, so if you go back a page the posting form is blank, at least in IE.

The text is preserved in Firefox, even if Firefox crashes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Aug 21, 2009 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Jul 01, 2009 1:13 am
Posts: 242
I have a rather bizarre problem that appears on my home computer and, as well, on the computers at Princeton University. Sometimes, when I hit any key, the window seems to scroll down in such a way that I cannot see the text being typed. I can scroll back up using the scrolling tool at the right, but the next key I hit, my text goes below the window.

I've never seen anything quite like it.

I can type my posts in word and paste them in, but that can be inconvenient.

Didja ever hear of one like this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Apr 18, 2012 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Jun 05, 2011 6:59 pm
Posts: 1337
Location: NoOPWA
Greetings All,
Does anyone know how to set this forum to open links in a new window? All the other fora I use do that already but this one overwrites the current window.

This wouldn't necessarily be a problem except that I am VERY used to just closing the window when I am thru with such a link, and doing that here shuts down the forum.

Help?

_________________
DRJ : Engineer - NAVSEA : (Retired)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Apr 19, 2012 3:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Jul 14, 2008 3:12 pm
Posts: 5058
KitemanSA wrote:
Greetings All,
Does anyone know how to set this forum to open links in a new window? All the other fora I use do that already but this one overwrites the current window.

This wouldn't necessarily be a problem except that I am VERY used to just closing the window when I am thru with such a link, and doing that here shuts down the forum.

Help?


Hold down the SHIFT key when clicking on the link, this then opens the link in a new window.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Jun 05, 2011 6:59 pm
Posts: 1337
Location: NoOPWA
Cyril R wrote:
Hold down the SHIFT key when clicking on the link, this then opens the link in a new window.
Kewl! Thanks.

Any way to make that the default?

_________________
DRJ : Engineer - NAVSEA : (Retired)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Sep 19, 2013 10:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Dec 19, 2011 7:04 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Berkeley, CA
I'm getting the following message trying to post in the Thorium in the News section:

Quote:
General Error
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Incorrect string value: '\xE2\x80\xB2s H...' for column 'post_text' at row 1 [1366]

An SQL error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact the Board Administrator if this problem persists.


When I tried to contact you using the board admin email, it bounced as deliverable.

EDIT: I was trying to use the insert hyperlink function (e.g.: text here). When I just pasted the hyperlink into the body it posted. Weird.

EDIT #2: I went in a typed out the text by hand instead of copying and pasting as plain text and that took: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4186


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Aug 23, 2014 12:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 24, 2009 4:42 am
Posts: 826
Location: Calgary, Alberta
I just clicked on an EFT link and got what looks like a hack, a HTML page advertising Hostgator.com Error 500.

Have we been hacked?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Board Problems
PostPosted: Aug 23, 2014 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sep 15, 2011 7:58 pm
Posts: 186
Hostgator appears to be a well known hosting service.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_HTTP_status_codes
HTML error code 500 is a generic error code for "unknown error".

It appears that when you requested a page, the company hosting this website, one of their computer servers had an unexpected problem, and reported it to you.

From the information provided, I doubt it's a "hack". Further, you should probably just ignore it, unless it happens frequently and then you should probably report it to Kirk so he and his hosting company can look at it and fix the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group