Energy From Thorium Discussion Forum

It is currently Jan 19, 2018 8:05 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Jul 15, 2012 7:43 am 

I have come here after watching David LeBlanc's DMSR talks and reading his papers.

It seems that even if you have a long lifetime for the salt and the vessel materials, you have to replace the graphite several times during the reactor life because of neutron damage. Surely it would be better not to have to do this?

I'm new to this and this may be a silly question, but are there any more durable moderator materials? I'm wondering about beryllium (metallic? oxide?), but I can't find any references on how long solid moderator materials in general last or the theory of how to calculate this.

PostPosted: Jul 15, 2012 9:39 am 

Yes it would be nice not to have to replace the graphite.
The French TMSR uses no graphite, the only moderation comes from the fuel salt itself.
As a result, the neutron spectrum is rather fast. 232Th/233U works nicely in that it has around the same breeding performance regardless of spectrum (not quite as good in epithermal, and slightly better in fast than in thermal). The other common fertile/fissile combination (238U/239Pu) only works well for breeding in the fast spectrum. In a thermal spectrum it works as a converter (needs to get make up fuel periodically).