Energy From Thorium Discussion Forum

It is currently Jul 16, 2018 6:31 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Apr 02, 2012 6:05 pm 

So, I know that a MSR solves the Xenon absorption problem, but in one of Kirk's videos I remember seeing that Protactinium is a very absorptive of neutrons, could we be facing a big problem like Xenon in a LFTR if we don’t separate the Protactinium? I know that some people advocate not separating the Protactinium to help with the proliferation concerns is this really an issue, and what will it do to the neutron budget?

P.S. I am new to nuclear energy and don’t have an education in it so layman's terms would be much appreciated.

PostPosted: Apr 03, 2012 3:10 am 

Dr. Leblanc has looked at this in some detail. Charles Barton (who has recently been de-zombified) has a good post on it on his blog:

http://nucleargreen.blogspot.com/2011/0 ... ology.html

PostPosted: Apr 03, 2012 5:39 pm 

Thank you for the article Cyril, I found the numbers on neutron loses to be quite helpful in raping my head around the problem (it seems that Protactinium isn’t that extreme of a neutron absorber).

Quote:
Single Fluid design with a 3 day Pa removal time, Pa losses are 0.0017 out of 2.23 neutrons

Single Fluid design WITHOUT Pa removal, Pa losses are 0.05 out of 2.23

2 Fluid design with lots of blanket salt, NO Pa removal (ORNL 1467) 0.0079 out of 2.22 (0.36%)

2 Fluid design with less blanket salt but Pa removal (ORNL 4528) 0.0002 out of 2.22.

but if you could answer one last question regarding Pa separation.

Of the different designs available which one is preferred/better for dealing with Protactinium?

PostPosted: Apr 03, 2012 6:32 pm 

I believe it is liquid metal exchange. ORNL assumed LME was using bismuth as the metal. Their reports make it sound like extracting protactinium was easy compared to separating thorium or plutonium from the fission products.