Energy From Thorium Discussion Forum

It is currently Apr 24, 2018 5:40 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sep 21, 2015 3:34 pm 

For the past couple months I've been working on a paper which points out why US NE decision makers should focus their R&D people/resources upon the development of MSR-type isobreeders, not "NGNP's" & SMRs. The first of them would be a optimized version of EVOL's fluoride salt-based Th breeder that I've described earlier this year (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/ese3.59/full). The second would be a no-blanket version of the chloride salt, U/Pu-based, MCFR. Up until three days ago I was stuck on the latter concept because no one I'd asked to do so (including people at the INL and the faculty of several of this county's more prominent academic NE departments) had volunteered to do the absolutely necessary "modern" neutronics modeling (I'm just a chemist).

That's now history because Ondrej Chvala has volunteered to do it. We haven't yet decided upon exactly what we're going to be proposing (i.e., the numbers in the ATTACHMENT's Fig 8 - one thing we do know for sure is that the reactor will have to be considerably bigger - roughly 80-100 m3 of fuel salt instead of 25), but it's now clear that the concept is viable.

Please look over the ATTACHED "work in progress" & get back to me/us with your comments/advice.

Attachments:
MCFR & MSFR paper-post chvala mods.doc [1.47 MiB]
Downloaded 202 times

PostPosted: Sep 22, 2015 12:55 pm 

Darryl,
The term "iso-breeder" sounds so nasty. How about using the term "sustainer" instead. It contains a term the faux-greens like as much as the real greens.

PostPosted: Sep 22, 2015 3:57 pm 

KitemanSA wrote:
Darryl,
The term "iso-breeder" sounds so nasty. How about using the term "sustainer" instead. It contains a term the faux-greens like as much as the real greens.