Energy From Thorium Discussion Forum

It is currently Oct 23, 2017 3:43 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: May 30, 2015 12:31 pm 

During the last couple of weeks I studied the effect of the new additive manufacturing methods on MSR reactors. I`m sure if these methods will become more advanced in the following years and decades they will make the manufaturing of an MSR easier and might become a game changer.

Additive methods as EBM have the advantage that no molds or tools only a 3D CAD file is required. No material is wasted. On the other hand these technologies have a low productivity and accuracy. Hence EBM/SLM is widely used in manufacturing prototypes. The production numbers of nuclear power plants are small. A successful manufacturer as ROSATOM sells in average 1 - 2 plants/yr. working on each of them 5 – 8 years. Even a strong renaissance of nuclear energy will most probably not increase the yearly new orders for big power reactors above 10/manufacturer/year. Mass manufacturing seems unrealistic. The numbers produced are similar to the prototype manufacturing of other businesses.

My study concentrated on molybdenum alloys as it is the preferred material for chloride salt reactors where I see the biggest opportunities. The late fluoride salt reactor designs as the French/European MSFR are designed for temperatures where the foreseen nickel alloys are at its limits and might be overchallenged in case of an accident with some temperature increase due to the decay heat. Hence it would be an asset to use molybdenum alloys at least for some critical components of a MSFR as hx as well.

Attachments:
Game changing New Manufacturing Technologies SLS & EBM.docx [1.4 MiB]
Downloaded 83 times
Game changing New Manufacturing Technologies SLS & EBM.docx [1.4 MiB]
Downloaded 64 times

PostPosted: May 31, 2015 3:54 pm 

Thanks Holger,

MSRs tend to be smaller and based on production line technology, rather than 1 offs.